Australia News

South Australia records two new coronavirus cases linked to known cluster

News Today || Headlines Today

South Australia has recorded two new cases of coronavirus, linked to the known Parafield cluster. 

The government said the two new cases were of people already in quarantine. 

The total number of cases linked to the Parafield cluster now stands at 33. 


It comes as the state recorded only 3,800 coronavirus test results processed, something authorities said they were disappointed was not higher. 

Meanwhile, Victoria has notched up its 29th day of zero new coronavirus cases on Saturday, as the state prepares for reopened borders with Queensland. 

There are zero active cases in Victoria, which passed the 28 day virus-free milestone on Friday. 

Health authorities define “elimination” of the virus as 28 days without a new community infection.

The last active case of coronavirus was discharged from a Victorian hospital on Monday, while Friday marked four weeks since the last case was diagnosed. 

Queensland is set to reopen their border with Victoria on 1 December, leaving Western Australia as the only state to continue to ban Victorian travellers. 

WA Premier Mark McGowan said he would make an announcement over the next week about letting Victorians back in.

Queensland will also lift its border restrictions to Greater Sydney on 1 December, but continues to list Adelaide as a hotspot due to the cluster in the city’s north. 

RELATED:  Highly contagious South African virus strain detected in Queensland

Tasmania opened its borders to Victoria on Friday. 

NSW, meanwhile, has recorded zero new local cases for three straight weeks.

People in Australia must stay at least 1.5 metres away from others. Check your jurisdiction’s restrictions on gathering limits.

If you are experiencing cold or flu symptoms, stay home and arrange a test by calling your doctor or contact the Coronavirus Health Information Hotline on 1800 020 080.

News and information is available in 63 languages at

Please check the relevant guidelines for your state or territory: NSW, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Northern Territory, ACT, Tasmania

Latest & Breaking Australia News Today Headlines: More Updates

Today News || News Now || World News || US News || UK Today || Tech News || Education News


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button