This regional Queensland team now holds the record for the most consecutive wins in Australian Rues history

News Post || News Now:

It has been a long time coming but after 44 years the Yeppoon Swans have snatched the record for the longest winning streak in Australian Rules history.

Based on the central Queensland coast, the Swans and their senior side last lost a game in 2015.

On Saturday night, the team defeated Boyne Island Tannum Sands in the grand final of the AFL Capricornia competition.

It was the team’s 89th consecutive win, breaking the record set by South Australian team Heathfield-Aldgate during the 1970s.


Win tops off a tough season

Swans coach Mark Wallin said the win was sweet.

“It’s been a tough road. This year has been incredibly hard with the shortened 10-game season,” he said.

“With the up and down troughs and uncertainty around when we’re going to play, it was just a tough year.

“I’m incredibly proud of the boys to get it done.”

The grand final was also a home game for the Swans.

“It was awesome to be at home at Swans ground and to get the record, on top of the premiership, is a perfect day,” captain Matt Wallin said.

Swans took Saints Queensland record

Runners-up, Boyne Island Tannum Sands Saints, started the game strongly but the Swans got ahead in the second quarter.

Until last year the Saints held the Queensland record for the longest winning streak, with 65 consecutive wins between 2000 and 2003.

Saints coach Rick Bean said the team went into the game as the underdogs.

“It’s how we stood up and how we acquitted ourselves.

“I thought the boys were very respectful to the game of footy and to Yeppoon and I couldn’t be any prouder in that area.

“You never lose, you win, or you learn, and we’ve learnt a hell of a lot today and where we need to be.”

“All records are there to be broken’

The former record holders, South Australian football club, Heathfield-Aldgate was on an 88-game winning streak in the 1970s.(Supplied: Peter Lines)

Healthfield-Aldgate, based in the Adelaide Hills, set the record of 88 wins between 1971 and 1976.

The team existed for 12 years, before it merged with then arch-rival Sterling Football Club, to join the South Australian Football Association, now known as the South Australian National Football League.

In that time the team won seven premierships in a row.

John Coventry was part of the historical side and congratulated the new record holders.

He said he was pleased the side shared his team’s colours — red and white.

“Job well done. They’ve got a few more premierships to catch up to us, though.”

Latest Sports Breaking News Today Headlines Check Below Links

Today News Post || USA News || NFL News || NHL News || NBA News || MLB News || Sports News Today


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button